top of page

July 4th 2024

What an honor it was to be in my hometown, Morning Sun, IA which was the birthplace of my book Annie’s 4th of July, to participate in the town’s annual Independence Day celebration on the 3rd and 4th.  It was almost surreal being there, as I was flooded with memories of celebrating this important day as a child, as a teenager, as a mother of two daughters who participated in the activities, and now as a grandma watching my precious grandchildren participate in the very same activities.  The book came alive as I watched children and adults participate in events as described in the book -  the frog jumping contest, the water balloon toss, the parade, the slurping of yummy snowcones and as I heard the “Oos” and “Awhs” as the fireworks burst into the nighttime sky.


Celebrating America’s birthday in my hometown seemed to bring Annie’s story full circle from conception, to development, to publication, and finally to the in-person rollout.  It certainly was an exciting adventure for me as I began a whole new career by writing this heartwarming children’s picture book.  I now look forward to sharing Annie’s 4th of July and the themes found in her story with elementary students during the 2024-25 school year. 


Remember to “Be brave…face your fears one step at a time like Annie”. 


 ~Jeanne~ 🙂🇺🇸🎆🎇




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Days Until Launch Day

With only 2 days until Annie’s 4th of July Launch on Tuesday June 4, I want to share some highlights of my journey writing this book with...

Comments


bottom of page